News & Events

2012 Iron Rumble

The USQRA is looking for sponsors for the 2017-2018 Season

Please contact the 2nd Vice-President for information about becoming a sponsor



2012 Iron Rumble
The 2012 Iron Rumble took place January 7-8 at South Division High School in Milwaukee. The Milwaukee Iron would like to extend a huge thank you to all of the volunteers, referees, team support staffs, Minnesota North Stars, Denver Harlequins, and Grand Rapids Thunder for making this 4-team round robin a success.
The tournament started with a very competitive game between the host Milwaukee Iron versus the always strong Minnesota North Stars. It was a back and forth game heading into the fourth quarter with Minnesota leading by 1 score. Eventually Minnesota took advantage and came away with a 42-34 victory. On the other court, a much improved Grand Rapids team had a tough opening game versus Denver. Even though Denver had only 5 players, the strength of Jason Regier and Adam Scaturro amongst other faired to be overpowering winning 48-10.
The best game from Saturday came between Minnesota and Denver. This was a battle of a mid-point line-up from Minnesota and the experience of a talented Denver team. This was also a close game throughout, however Denver came away with a 50-46 victory. The rest of the results from Saturday included: Milwaukee beating Grand Rapids 55-27, Minnesota beating Grand Rapids 49-31, and Denver beating Milwaukee 53-36. Those results set up a rematch for all teams on Sunday with Milwaukee versus Grand Rapids for 3rd/4th place and Denver versus Minnesota for the championship.
On Sunday Milwaukee finished the tournament strong taking 3rd place with a victory over Grand Rapids. Strong play from both teams especially Milwaukee’s international player Cory Harrower who won best high-pointer and Grand Rapids up-and-comer Gabe Grant. The championship between Denver and Minnesota was once again a close battle. With some adjustments from their first matchup, the great teamwork from Ryan Engelby, Eddie Brosnan, Kyle Peterson, and Adam McCord proved too much and won 49-47.
Once again, thank you to everyone involved for making this tournament a success!
John R. Mezydlo
Milwaukee Iron
January 19, 2012 — 12:23pm