News & Events

2010 U.S. Paralympic Wheelchair Rugby Team Announced

The USQRA is looking for sponsors for the 2017-2018 Season

Please contact the 2nd Vice-President for information about becoming a sponsor



Twelve athletes have been nominated to the 2010 U.S. Paralympic Wheelchair Rugby Team. The team was announced following a three-day tryout camp held at Lakeshore Foundation, an official U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Training Site. With their sights set on the 2010 World Championships in Vancouver, this team will first represent the United States at the Demolition Derby which will be held at Lakeshore Foundation the weekend of January 22, 2010.

Head coach James Gumbert (Austin, Texas) said that the group of athletes selected for the 2010 team represent one of the best rugby teams in the history of U.S. Rugby. The U.S. is currently the top-ranked wheelchair rugby team in the world.

2010 U.S. Paralympic Wheelchair Rugby Team:

Chuck Aoki (Minneapolis, Minn.) Andy Cohn (Tempe, Ariz.) Chad Cohn (Tuscon, Ariz.) Will Groulx (Portland, Ore.) Derrick Helton (Tuscumbia, Mo.) Scott Hogsett (Tempe, Ariz.) Bryan Kirkland (Leeds, Ala.) Seth McBride (Portland, Ore.) Jason Regier (Denver, Colo.) Adam Scaturro (Lakewood, Colo.) Nick Springer (St. Petersburg, Fla./New York, NY) Chance Sumner (Denver, Colo.)

Alternates: Clayton Braun (St. Louis, Mo.) Brent Poppen (Paso Robles, Calif.) Mark Zupan (Austin, TX)

December 21, 2009 — 9:20am